Michelle Chang is the Women in Chemistry Award Winner 2023

Prof. Michelle Chang from the University of California, Berkeley (USA) has been chosen as the 3rd recipient of the Dr. Margaret Faul Award for Women in Chemistry.

Thieme and the Editors of Science of Synthesis are delighted to announce that the Dr. Margaret Faul Women in Chemistry Award Winner 2023 is Michelle Chang from the University of California, Berkeley (USA). She was honored in recognition of her outstanding contributions to synthetic organic chemistry, which have broader impact in the fields of energy, medicine and the environment.

She has advanced areas of natural products biosynthesis to develop new synthetic methods for C-H fluorination and related halogenation reactions, and also the production of fuels and chemicals from bio-derived renewable resources using sustainable biocatalysis with enzymes and whole cell platforms.

The award will be presented to her at the European Symposium on Organic Chemistry (ESOC) in Ghent, Belgium, which will be taking place from July 9-13, 2023.

Learn more about ESOC


About Michelle Chang

After studying chemistry/biochemistry and French literature as an undergraduate at the University of California, San Diego, Michelle Chang completed her PhD in chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 2004. Following postdoctoral work with Prof. Jay D. Keasling, she began her independent research career at the University of California, Berkeley, in 2007, achieving promotion to Full Professor in 2018. Her research program is focused on the study of biosynthetic and biocatalytic pathways and their application to solve problems in synthetic organic and environmental chemistry.

Learn more about her research


Members of the 2023 Selection Committee

The selection committee which was co-chaired by Margaret Faul and Alois Fürstner comprised

Carolyn Bertozzi Stanford, CA, USA
Erick M. Carreira ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Pauline Chiu Hong Kong University, P. R. of China
Janine Cossy ESPCI Paris, France
Veronique Gouverneur University of Oxford, UK
Eric Jacobsen Harvard University, MA, USA
Rebecca T. Ruck Merck, NJ, USA
Johan Van der Eycken Ghent University, Belgium


About the Dr. Margaret Faul Women in Chemistry Award

The prize is awarded to a young woman of any nationality within the first 15 years of her independent career in chemical research in recognition of the candidate’s outstanding achievements in organic chemistry, broadly defined to include medicinal, biological, organometallic, or materials chemistry, and related areas. The award is presented every two years and comes with a price money of 5,000€.

Learn more

Get Trial Access to the chemistry journals
Download SYNFORM or read it online